WhatsApp will delete users data soon.
The change from the popular messaging app comes as its systems change over later this year.
WhatsApp is used widely by Brits, with its popularity in Birmingham not in doubt.
The change follows a deal between WhatsApp and Google.
Now, all your chats, pictures, videos and audio files will be backed up without costing you Google Drive space.
As part of the deal Google has agreed to start letting WhatsApp users back up their accounts without it taking up any of their 15GB free data allowance – reports the Mirror Online.
The bad news is that this new wave of back-ups could delete all your old chats, pictures and videos.
So if you don’t have your account backed up by 12 November you could lose it all.
If you’ve not backed your account up in over a year then anything older will be lost on 12 November.
Google recommends that users should back-up their WhatsApp accounts manually.
Here’s how to do that.
How to manually backup WhatsApp
Firstly, make sure you have Google Drive setup on your phone.
From WhatsApp go to Menu, Settings, Chats then Chat backup. Select Back Up and you will automatically see everything getting backed up to Google Drive.
Note that most WhatsApp accounts will be set to only backup over Wi-Fi so be sure you’re connected before you get started.
Source : BirminghamMail